He Loves Us Anyway!

Perhaps one of the most powerful modern Christian Contemporary songs ever written is that of Sidewalk Prophets, entitled, “You Love Me Anyway”.  It tells of how God loves us no matter what we do.  There is no greater love in life that we could ever know!  I heard the song on the radio yesterday afternoon, and though I had not heard it played in many months, it had the same effect on my emotions as the very first time I heard it.  It breaks my heart, and the Holy Spirit’s conviction is so very strong.  It brought me to tears when I heard it performed live in front of a totally sold out American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas.  There are not many songs that have such an effect on me spiritually and emotionally, and certainly not every time I hear them!  That is the kind of music we need to hear, and our children need to be listening to.  Today, there are so many hit songs being played on Christian radio that never once mention the name of Jesus!  We need to know that God loves us more than we can ever imagine, but we also need to be reminded that we were responsible for His coming to earth, suffering, death, and resurrection!

God gave us His only Son…and WHOSOEVER believes in Him shall not perish, but will have everlasting life!  That means the homosexual, the rapist, the thief, the drug addict, the alcoholic, the Muslim, Buddhist, Atheist, Agnostic…WHOSOEVER BELIEVES IN HIM.  There is a heaven, and there certainly is a hell.  There is no in between, my friend!  You have the freedom to choose because God gave you free will.  Will you choose eternal life and accept the salvation of Jesus Christ?  Will you embrace the love that He poured out for you at Golgotha?

I challenge you to listen to this great song without distractions, and meditate on the lyrics.  Really think about how our sins do not deserve to be forgiven, and how we are totally forgiven through the sacrifice of Jesus!  Our sin caused Him to be beaten, spat upon, and nailed to that cross.  Each of us was there, yelling “Crucify Him!”, as his blood spilled upon the earth for every sin ever committed, or that ever will be committed.  Even when we turn away from him, He hears us when we turn back to Him and cry out for His mercy.  He is quick to forgive, and offers us a love like we can never know in this lifetime.

If you have the opportunity to see Dave and Sidewalk Prophets on tour in your area, I encourage you to do so.  They are currently touring with the Winter Jam Tour 2013.  They truly love God with all of their hearts, and it shows through their music and their lifestyle.  They are a blessing to millions, young and old, and they are writing and performing songs with real meaning that touch people and tell them of the love of Christ!

 

The question was raised
As my conscience fell

A silly, little lie
It didn’t mean much
But it lingers still
In the corners of my mind

Still you call me to walk
On the edge of this world
To spread my dreams and fly
But the future’s so far
My heart is so frail
I think I’d rather stay inside

But You love me anyway
It’s like nothing in life that I’ve ever known
Yes, You love me anyway
Oh Lord, how You love me
How You love me

It took more than my strength
To simply be still
To seek but never find
All the reasons we change
The reasons I doubt
And why do loved ones have to die?

But You love me anyway
It’s like nothing in life that I’ve ever known
Yes, You love me anyway
Oh Lord, how You love me

I am the thorn in Your crown
But You love me anyway
I am the sweat from Your brow
But You love me anyway
I am the nail in Your wrist
But You love me anyway
I am Judas’ kiss
But You love me anyway

See now, I am the man who yelled out from the crowd
For Your blood to be spilled on this earth-shaking ground
Yes then, I turned away with this smile on my face
With this sin in my heart tried to bury Your grace
And then alone in the night, I still called out for You
So ashamed of my life, my life, my life

But You love me anyway
It’s like nothing in life that I’ve ever known
Yes, You love me anyway
Oh Lord, how You love me

You love me, yes You love me
How You love me
How You love me
How You love me

© 2011 WMG Sidewalk Prophets – You Love Me Anyway

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Wednesday Link List « Thinking Out Loud

    What are you thinking?

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 183 other followers

